Newbie to Ringnecks

Let us know a little about yourself! Tell us about your birds and why you are here.

Moderator: Mods

Pyxis

Newbie to Ringnecks

Post by Pyxis »

Hi all, I'm a newbie to ringnecks, but not to parrots - I have a beautiful sun conure named Larrikin and I have owned cockatiels in the past. I don't have a ringneck yet, but soon I believe I will be taking in a blue ringneck female. She has not had the best life so far. Her first (I think) home was with a person who was addicted to drugs and treated her poorly. They gave her up to a friend of mine who is an animal lover but has no experience with birds and wasn't able to connect with her. It doesn't help that he has a lot of other animals that he gives priority to over her, including two dogs that she hates. She is withdrawn and quiet in her current home, and I've talked her current owner into giving her to me. I will have to go slowly, I know, because she is afraid of people. She threatens to bite through the cage but if you open it and ask her to 'step up' she panics and flees around the cage. I am willing to put the time in and go slowly with her to win her trust. I figure that worst case scenario, she will at least be happier here with no large dogs to torment her and another bird to talk to. Any advice is gladly welcome!
Donovan

Re: Newbie to Ringnecks

Post by Donovan »

take a stroll through the forum .. and do a search for "taming" or "tame".. you'll find a wealth of information about indian ringnecks

You are going to need to keep your distance from this bird for a while...
She needs to see you acting normally while ignoring him... She needs to very simply Observe her environment for a while and not participate in it until it suits her to do so.

Now your greatest challenge is going to be building trust. So.. at first.. let her get used to her new environment for a few days... .. get to know her habits, likes and dislikes (food wise).