Hello from Zazu! Any help would be appreciated!

Let us know a little about yourself! Tell us about your birds and why you are here.

Moderator: Mods

kayla_jarvis

Hello from Zazu! Any help would be appreciated!

Post by kayla_jarvis »

Hello! I'm new to the world of IRNs, and I thought this would be the proper forum in which to get some good advice as I've already consulted the site numerous times without joining! haha I've worked at a pet store the past 3 years and have tamed vicious quakers, cranky conures, and grouchy senegals so I thought I was up for the challenge of a ringneck as my first bird. :wink:

Zazu is a 12 week old male blue indian ringneck! He's fully weaned but the breeder I bought him from told me to continue to hand wean him til 13 weeks. Out of his cage he is very calm. I'm not sure if its because hes scared or just a sweetheart. In the week that I've had him, he hasnt made a single sound except a little bit of clicking. Im finding that hes very cage territorial both when im trying to get him out and as soon as I go to change his food. He wont take treats from my hand or step up very willingly and he often shys away then hisses and lunges at me and tries to attack my hand when I go to get him. Fortunately for now his bites are pathetic and dont hurt at all. Im wondering if it is him starting to go through bluffing? I've flicked his beak a couple times but it seems to just piss him off more so I've stopped that. I just pet his beak when he tries to bite me and I make sure he comes out after so he knows that he isnt the ruler of the roost. Am I doing the right thing, or should i just leave him in there? Ive read a lot of stuff saying they can get aggressive quickly if theyre not taken out of their cage on a daily basis.

Any general advice on this and any other subject for a first time ringneck owner would be much appreciated! Thanks!
(Also how do you attach a picture? I've never posted in the forum before haha)
ellieelectrons