Need help, please

Moderator: Mods

sillyolbear1182

Need help, please

Post by sillyolbear1182 »

I bought a grey irn almost 2 weeks ago. The gentleman said that he/she was 6 months and was hand fed by a woman. My daughter named him/her skeeter. But everytime that I put my hand in the cage or walk by the cage Skeeter lunges and bites the cage. While making a squaking sound. I am new to owning a bird, and was wondering if anyone can tell me how to break Skeeter of this biting problem. Please help!! It seems as though he was sheltered from humans, will he get better as he gets older? They said that Skeeter was born in Feb. of this year. I would love as much info. and advice as you can give...
Mikaela

Post by Mikaela »

How? Time

When? Up to Skeeter

Why? Probably just a new home but why doesnt matter. All that matters is from today on and how YOU handle Skeet.

Suggestion: You have to do like all the rest of us, TAKE THE BITES. No way around it. Everytime he does it say Nooooo, not loud but like you MEAN it. Only time can tame a bird. Not enough love in the world. Although it takes your love as the catalyst. My baby girl is a mean hen. HATES to be touched. But as I sit here typing with sore fingers, I can tell you she appreciates me spending time with her and taking care of her.

The biggest change in her was when I stopped holding eye contact with her. I thought that would make her trust me (works for humans) but it only intimadated her (as it does some humans). Now, she doesnt shake when I go see her. NEVER draw back from a biting bird, they will only bite you harder next time. Take the bite and say Noooo bad boy Skeet!

Please, handle him more, he deserves it. The bite heals, the bird tames and these days wil soon be over.
~ Mikaela Sky

sillyolbear1182

Skeeter

Post by sillyolbear1182 »