Newbie here

Let us know a little about yourself! Tell us about your birds and why you are here.

Moderator: Mods

valcoff

Newbie here

Post by valcoff »

Hi all, I am new to this forum. I am in SE Qldin the Lockyer Valley. I have had IR's for some years now and I am learning something new every day.
I am, by no means, an expert with birds. I prefer my birds sometimes to people. :)
I have mostly Olive Ringnecks. I have a pair of birds breeding really well. The boy is an olive named Ollie. His mate is a yellow I named her Polly. How original am I? They have hatched their second brood this year. One set last year as well. They favour his colouring.
I also have a grey girl who strayed in about 3 yrs ago. She was not tame and I put her in a cage on her own as she can't live with any other bird. I even bought a rainbow boy for her and he lasted less than 24hrs. I didn't introduce them properly so it was my fault.
After she was on her own she changed. I can do anything with her. It started as simply as talking to her and hand feeding her at times. One problem is she is besotted with me.
I have been looking at this forum and I like what I see very much. I am not new to forums and this looks AOK. I am in my 60's.
Looking forward to being a regular here.
Sorry if I am long winded.
Val
MissK

Re: Newbie here

Post by MissK »

Hi Val,
Welcome. You'll have to try harder if you want to me more long-winded than me! :lol:
I look forward to hearing how you do with your flock and what you have to share with us.
-MissK
valcoff

Re: Newbie here

Post by valcoff »

My bird population is: Mum and dad, as in previous post,
2 olive from 2 yrs ago, 1 male 1 female.
2 from over a year ago. I think they may be a pair. I sold one there was 3.
I have the grey girl, had her now for about 4 yrs.