blue cock green hen surprises all round

Moderator: Mods

shaun4rmsa

blue cock green hen surprises all round

Post by shaun4rmsa »

Hi all, haven't been active in some time, dog shows taking up way too much time. Just thought I'd share and give an update on my hand raised breeding pair. So the first year together I was happy to have them pair up so quickly, the hen at the ripe ol' age of 7, the cock 4. That first year the produced only 2 babies, a cinnamon and a green. I kept the cinnamon hen and will be pairing her with a pastelgrrey cock as I think that would yield the most variety regarding colour? What do you guys think? Anyway last season, some will remember my concerned post about the hen becoming nest bound and laying on what was in the end 16 eggs. Being a newbie I didn't know what to do not having other pairs and not wanting to buy a brooder for 1 pair of IRN's, I just removed some of what looked like the older eggs, leaving only four. Regardless, it was a fruitless season, with no babies. This year she only laid 5 eggs, and of the 5 only 1 hatched(think she might be too old for a brood hen). Anyway to my surprise the baby turned out to be Lutino, so correct me if I'm wrong but does that make her a hen as well like the cinnamon was? Anyway just wanted to share my luck of the draw having bought 2 pet IRN's a green hen and a blue cock, not knowing about split,dominant, sex-linked, hand raised them, and was lucky enough to not only breed lutino from them, but cinnamon as well. If the Lutino is a hen then what would be the best bet for a cock bird? Pastelblue/ino? Creamino?Albino? Thanks for reading. Shaun
Attachments
IMG-20141025-02055.jpg
willowisp71

Re: blue cock green hen surprises all round

Post by willowisp71 »

Hi Shaun,