Recessive & Dominate?

Moderator: Mods

bdt9413

Recessive & Dominate?

Post by bdt9413 »

Hello guys, im new to breeding indian ringnecks, so can you guy give me a brake down of what are the recessive mutation? and what happen if you breed it with a non recessive gene, and what mutation are non-recessive? And whats the dominate mutation? like i heard you cant put a lutino and a blue togather for breeding, they wont come out with blue and yellow babies :(

And how can you tell if your IRN is split to somthing else, is it visible or hidden?
sheyd

Re: Recessive & Dominate?

Post by sheyd »

Green's dominant and Blue's recessive so a Lutino cock (green-base) bred to a Blue hen would produce Green split for Blue and Ino in the cocks, and Lutino split for Blue hens.

A Blue cock bred to a Lutino Hen will produce Green split for Blue and Ino cocks, and Green split for Blue in the hens.
sheyd

Post by sheyd »

You won't know if a bird is split unless you breed it or if you know what the parents were- but even then that can be a guess with some combinations- best to pair it up and see what it produces.
bdt9413

Post by bdt9413 »

i notice that you mentioned ino. whats that? what does ino mean? :D
sheyd

Post by sheyd »

Ino (a type of albinism) changes the bird's colour from green to yellow or from blue to white -- so Ino + Green is Lutino and Ino + Blue is Albino
bdt9413

Post by bdt9413 »

so your saying they will be born green but as they muture or molt the "ino" will change the feather colors to lutino? cause how you said "ino" sounds like your talking about a specific mutation, is ino abreviated for albino?
~Im sorry if i sound dumb, i just really want to understand that meaning. :)
sheyd

Post by sheyd »

no, Lutino's are born Lutino's. There are two bases- Green (dominant) and Blue (recessive)

You can have Ino on either base:
Ino + Green = Lutino (yellow bird) and Ino + Blue = Albino (white bird)