And baby makes three...

A place to talk about all species, apart from our Ringnecks. Please, post video and pics when available.

Moderator: Mods

Sixty Fiver

And baby makes three...

Post by Sixty Fiver »

I adopted my Ringnecks in October... Lucce is a gregarious and fun loving 5 year old Lutino male while Amore is a slightly more reserved 9 year old female.

They have yet to make any babies but this is because no-one has been ready to deal with a clutch of babies yet... despite that they are very close to each other and love their humans.

I volunteer at a pet shop and tonight I brought home a new baby... a nearly one year old Senegal parrot named Talouse that I have been working with for nearly 5 months who tolerates most people well but loves and trusts me more than anything. Perhaps it was because I was the first person she accepted and allowed to give her scritches and from there it has just been love love love and she has never bitten me.

She is a very gentle bird and she will give me a hard grab when she wants to go back to her cage or objects to something we are doing although she has replaced much of this with her version of saying "no".

Senegals give nibbles when they like you which should not be confused with aggression but they should know there are limits to this too.

I was talking to the manager about buying her and she was off calling about getting me a better volunteer price and during this a guy walks in, asks how much she was, and said... "I can afford that, I will come back and take her next week."

All this despite him admitting that he knew nothing about Senegals and that Talouse was trying to separate his finger from his hand when he was poking her.