Hello - rescued Ringneck

Let us know a little about yourself! Tell us about your birds and why you are here.

Moderator: Mods

shanc21

Hello - rescued Ringneck

Post by shanc21 »

Hi,

About a week and half ago I rescued an escaped (I presume) Indian Ringneck. She was in a tree beside the beach house we were staying in and we were able to lure her into a box with bird seed. She was very hungry. I put up signs, called vets in the area, notified the police and the animal shelter, and put posts on the internet - I have gotten absolutely no responses thus far.

I have owned parrots before - but never one as big as an Indian Ringneck. I have raised lovebirds and currently still have one of my babies who is now 15. In the past I have also owned Cockatiels and budgies, but Lovebirds are what I have the most experience with. So I know alot about parrots in general, but mostly small parrots. I'm just beginning to learn about IRNs.

I want to learn as much as I can about IRNs to give this girl a good life. I have a lot to learn.

My best guess is that this is a female, assuming she is mature. I understand that when they are less than three, they all look like females. Is there any way to determine age? My gut feeling is that she is mature, but I really don't know how to tell for sure. She is a blue mutation of some sort - She is an aqua blue or turquoise color - a blue with a lot of green in it. Her beak is mostly red but has some black on it especially near the tip of the top beak. The bottom beak is black and red. Her irises appear gray/blueish to me. (Most of the descriptions of blue mutations I've read say yellowish irises - so I don't know what this means???)

I have been calling her Neela. I have a good Avian Vet that I trust that I have been going to for years. She has an appointment this coming Monday. She's in a quarantine room now, but I hope to eventually keep her in the same room with George (the lovebird) and I hope they will enjoy each other's company.