Our new friend

Moderator: Mods

shugoobs

Our new friend

Post by shugoobs »

Hello,

I am new here and new to IRNs, assuming that's what she is.

We live in Dubai and have a large, open terrace at our home. One day, a beautiful bird flew onto our terrace and sat for a while. She came back a couple of times and I put some fruit out. Once I put the fruit out, that was it. She has adopted us, even sleeping on our terrace. She does not have her wings clipped and can fly away whenever she chooses, but she doesn't fly away for very long. She will sit with us out there and will call to us if we go inside. She seems to have fallen for my husband and will pick at the tag on his shirt while he's sitting out on the terrace. I don't know if she's wild or if she's a pet, but she seems very comfortable around us. I'm also new to the middle east, so I'm not sure if clipping the wings is a standard practice here like it is in the states. In the states, one would assume that a bird without clipped wings is not a pet, although I think the practice is cruel.

On to my question... I have researched how and what to feed her, so I'm good with that, but I don't know what type of "bedding" or perch to provide for her. I don't want to confine her to a cage, and am perfectly fine with her residing freely on our terrace. I've often seen her shivering, but I'm not sure how to help keep her warm. Especially at night.

Any advice for a newbie, such as myself, would be very much appreciated. Oh, and what type of toys will she enjoy so she stops trying to pick apart my porch furniture!

I should mention that she looks identical to the pictures on this website, but the ring is just a subtle shade of darker green, very difficult to see if you're not looking. I can't figure out how to post a picture on here yet.
Thanks!
InTheAir

Re: Our new friend

Post by InTheAir »

Hi there,

What a sweet story. I'd think she would be a lost pet, being so tame.