I need HELP!!

Moderator: Mods

xXCharlieXx

I need HELP!!

Post by xXCharlieXx »

Hi, i just got an Indian Ringneck two weeks ago. I need help on training him. The first problem is that he's not trained and is scared of everyone. i cant even get close to him without him jumping away. he's not brave. how do i get him to get used too me. if u need any more info or any pics, i will be happy to provide. he is one year old and his name is charlie. to me its seems like he will never like me or anyone. thats what im worried about. please help thanks :)
phildez

Re: I need HELP!!

Post by phildez »

Hi Charlie

Well im no expert but if you haven't already read or been told this then the following would be the most common reply:-

-dont expect too much too soon, all good things........
-make sure you have the right set-up cage, toys, environment etc for Charlie
-you need to give charlie time to settle into his/her new surroundings
-approach charlie slowly at a time, and just sit as near to the cage as poss before charlie seems agitated by your proximity
-speak softly and confidently whilst next to charlie, ramble on about anything really its just so he accustoms to your voice and presence. This should help him realise you are not a threat
-pay attention to colours of your clothing & items around the cage/room as certain colours/objects may freak your bird out (mine hates red/orange/purple things and 'snake' like objects)
-slowly place your hand near to his cage and leave for a few minutes making sure he see's what you're doing (in time you'd be able to progress with your hand inside the cage - inching nearer day by day, sort'of)