Newbie - need crash course on genetics

Moderator: Mods

baut1957

Newbie - need crash course on genetics

Post by baut1957 »

Hi, my name is Leo :) and I'm a beginner, and have just acquired 2 pairs of IRN. I reside in Northern California, San Jose to be exact and have been in this great hobby just last March. I bought a Violet Turquoise Pallidino male paired up with a Turquoise Lacewing female. The second pair is a Blue Cleartail male and a Blue Violet Cleartail female, hope I'am right. Just want to know what the outcome will be with these pairs. Also, I'm still learning all the terminologies, and know it's going to be awhile before I get the hang of it. I bought 2 books, namely, A Guide to Asiatic Parrots and Indian Ringnecks - Breeders Handbook, both great books to start with. Just wondering if there are more websites available out there for us beginners. Especially, descriptions of the terms used in genetics like ~ Ino, what is a Pallidino etc. :?: I was able to get in the Genetic Calculator and it just blew my mind on what info to put in, and that's when I realize I need to know the terminologies by heart before I even play around it. Sorry if I asked to many questions ~ just a hobbyist willing to learn and enjoy these magnificent birds. Will appreciate your response. Thanks.
madas

Post by madas »

1. pair:

1.0 turquoise(parblue)Blue violet(sf) pallidIno x 0.1 turquoise(parblue)Blue pallid

6.25% 1.0 blue pallidIno
6.25% 1.0 blue violet(sf) pallidIno
12.5% 1.0 turquoise(parblue)Blue pallidIno
12.5% 1.0 turquoise(parblue)Blue violet(sf) pallidIno
6.25% 1.0 turquoise(parblue) pallidIno
6.25% 1.0 turquoise(parblue) violet(sf) pallidIno
6.25% 1.0 blue pallid
6.25% 1.0 blue violet(sf) pallid
12.5% 1.0 turquoise(parblue)Blue pallid
12.5% 1.0 turquoise(parblue)Blue violet(sf) pallid
6.25% 1.0 turquoise(parblue) pallid
6.25% 1.0 turquoise(parblue) violet(sf) pallid

6.25% 0.1 blue ino
6.25% 0.1 blue violet(sf) ino
12.5% 0.1 turquoise(parblue)Blue ino