IRN breeding info please

Moderator: Mods

sarah23

IRN breeding info please

Post by sarah23 »

Hi all,
i'm fairly new to indian ringnecks but not new to birds. i'm getting a blue and green breeding pair and i want to give them the best set up i can for successful breeding. i have had lots of experience with small birds but taking my learning to the next step. so i have been told quite a bit of helpful info but where else can i get the most updated and experienced information? Here!
So here are my questions:
Minimum cage size for one breeding pair?
Best nesting material?
Best diet for breeding season?
Best location of cage - inside or outside?
I have a big breeding box which is used for indian ringnecks so i'm good for that.
Do they prefer a cage with lots of privacy - such as packing it out with lots of branches and leaves etc or leaving it nice and tidy with many perches/branches is sufficient?
Best way to suppliment calcium into their diet? and how much to give?
and lastly, with a blue male and green female what are the possible colour combination babies will they have?
any extra info is greatly appreciated! thanks! :)
rod038

Re: IRN breeding info please

Post by rod038 »

If you want the best set up then you dont want the minimum cage size but a cage they will be comfortable in and that is the biggest you can afford. I would suggest if they are in this cage all year round that it is at least 2.4m long by 1.2 wide and 2m high. or even a suspended cage half the height but raised off the ground.

A nest box about 250mm x 250mm x 600mm high with clean wood shavings dampened and compressed in the base. You may need to add more as the Hen likes to throw them out of the box.

I use a good seed mix and add soaked seed and a variety of fruit and Vege. I add a calcium liquid to the soaked seed. Fresh water in a bowl they can bathe in also. Just follow the directions on the bottle for the calcium.