How to find out what sex a ringneck is. WITHOUT DNA TEST

Moderator: Mods

mickpmc

How to find out what sex a ringneck is. WITHOUT DNA TEST

Post by mickpmc »

Hi there,
I am thinking of buying a sky blue Ringneck that is 6 months old. :D
I think these are a way of quessing there sex:
Baby male have slight ring neck pattern female dont, male have bright red beak female have pale, male have bump on the rear end ( like penis) female is flat, male is louder than females, male have brighter overal colour than female.
What do you guys think and whats your idea of telling :?: . Also, were would you be able
to find a place were they do a DNA test for the bird? :?
Anyway,
Good day! :wink:

-Michael :mrgreen:

Milo...Boy...Buddy
ellieelectrons

Re: How to find out what sex a ringneck is. WITHOUT DNA TEST

Post by ellieelectrons »

Hi Michael

I'm not an expert in this area... but I don't think it is really possible to tell at that age. Even DNA testing isn't 100% accurate. Judging by other posts I have read here, you are more likely to be able to make good guess at the bird's sex by observing body language... but that's still no guarantee.

My DNA-sexed female is almost 2 years old and she has a feint ring around her neck but it's not black, it's more a light blue colour. She is also not as tall as our male 8 month old lutino DNA-sexed male.

The indicators for me that she is female are her temperament and lately she seems to be engaging in nesting-type behaviour... however, I am still aware that she may turn out to be a he... but I'm pretty sure she would have the beginnings of a black ring by now if she were a he.

Regards

Ellie.
ellieelectrons

Post by ellieelectrons »

Michael - sorry, I also meant to say Welcome to the forum and good luck with your choice of bird!

You asked about where to go for DNA-sexing. I imagine that depends on what country you are from. Where are you from?

Ellie.
mickpmc

Post by mickpmc »