Need help with my two newly purchased IRNs

Let us know a little about yourself! Tell us about your birds and why you are here.

Moderator: Mods

Zaheer708

Need help with my two newly purchased IRNs

Post by Zaheer708 »

Hello All

First of all let me appreciate this wonderful online bird lover community...

2 days ago i purchased two little IRNs..this is my first time to own any pet....i purchased them from a local pet shop. They did not give me any info about the birds at all except their age which is about 5 months or so for both the birds..though i doubt it.

I am keeping them in one cage at the moment. The birds are tooooo scared and aggressive.

I need your help to estimate their age and sex...also to identify if they are IRNs or ARNs...and methods to tame them and have them stepped up on my hand.etc.
Attachments
2015-09-03 17.29.24.jpg
2015-09-03 17.30.15.jpg
Wessel Gordon

Re: Need help with my two newly purchased IRNs

Post by Wessel Gordon »

Zaheer,

Both birds are Indian Ringnecks and not African Ringnecks, based on their beak color. For more information see the below link:

http://pets.thenest.com/difference-betw ... 12187.html

As for age and sex: while they seem to be young (you will notice the completely black eye compared to the black and grey eye of the bird at the top of this page) it's tricky to estimate exactly how young they are or what sex they are. The only reliable way to determine sex before 18-24 months old is to have it sexed by an avian vet.

Wessel
Zaheer708

Post by Zaheer708 »

Thanks Wessel

I thought the eye color is dark due to expanded pupil while being indoor. I will take it out to check if the color changes or not.

Also please advise if i should put them in 2 separate cages in order to fast track the tame/adjusting process.