Hello, I am new to IRNs and IRN.com

Let us know a little about yourself! Tell us about your birds and why you are here.

Moderator: Mods

amurphy1991

Hello, I am new to IRNs and IRN.com

Post by amurphy1991 »

Hello, I just bought an IRN who is a little over a year and was not handfed. I knew this before purchasing and after reading that IRN's who have not been handfed could still make great pets, I went ahead and purchased him. He is a green IRN and his name is Emerald. He is the first IRN I have owned. I have raised cockatiels and lovebirds in the past and love birds. I have had him for about two weeks today. The first few days he was home I gave him his space. I was worried about stressing him out being in a new home. Several days after he was home, I clipped his wings which he wasn't happy about but he has adjusted just fine. The question I have is about taming him. I sit in front of his cage and talk to him and he goes about his business, but I know he is keeping an eye on my. I didn't know it until I read the article about bluffing on this website, but he is going through this stage. When I go to take him out of his cage he tries desperately to get away. The past couple days I have opened the cage door to wait for him to come out. Once he is out he will get on my hand reluctantly. The first couple times we did this he would not stay on my hand very long. But now he will stay for quite a while while we watch a movie. He usually hops from my hand to my leg. We usually have our training sessions in the evening. After he is sitting on my hand a while he will curl up a foot and tuck it in his feathers. I am hoping this is a sign that he is comfortable on me. I give him fruits while we "train" which he enjoys eating.