Do I Dont I?

Let us know a little about yourself! Tell us about your birds and why you are here.

Moderator: Mods

Occy

Do I Dont I?

Post by Occy »

Hi all

Im looking at getting a bird - I havent had one for a few years but over the years I have had budgies, cockatiels, love birds and a cockatoo.

I was looking at getting an Indian Ringneck but Im not sure if they would be the right bird for me -0 or if i would be the right owner for them.

I will get a cage etc that is suitable to whatever bird I get - probably oversizes and it will be housed in my loungeroom but will have wheels so i can take it outside (in addition the property im renting has a disused aviary in the backyard)

I have two dogs and several fish and though my dogs will chase birds in the park they know how to behave around pet birds and I am sensible in my associations between the species!

I will be working full time - that means Im out of the house 6-8 hours a day - more on certain days as Im a teacher but i am home most evenings - a real homebody - and most weekends.

Im looking for a companion bird - a bird that wants attention but not all of my attention all of the time. Im also looking for a trainable bird - I was a dog trainer for many years but I would like to give bird clicker training a go. I would like my bird to have the ability to learn to talk but thats a bonus really.

are IRN the right beasty for me?

And if they are, are there any good breeders in Melbourne, Australia?
Mikaela

Post by Mikaela »

If you want an active, 2 yr old that never grows up, the ringneck is for you!

Because of ringnecks personalities and owners personalities, I cant tell you if an IRN will work for you. So, I'll tell you what I know so you can decide.

We all work a lot, they do fine alone as long as we make up for it while we are home.