New IRN owner (sorta!)

Let us know a little about yourself! Tell us about your birds and why you are here.

Moderator: Mods

Nez

New IRN owner (sorta!)

Post by Nez »

Hi everyone,

I'm a vet nurse, and someone bought in a bird they found last week - apparently just flew up and sat on her shoulder!! Anyway, I have bought it home, pending finding the owner. I am oretty sure its an IRN - I have included photos below!
Any help would be appreciated as I know nothing about birds! How big a cage do they need? Can you tell from the colouring if it is a boy or a girl? What and how much to feed? Ibought some "parrot seed" from the local pet store which it is eating. I also have lost of behaviour questions, but Ill leave them to later :lol: Sorry to ramble on so much, just wanna make sure Im doing everything right!

Thanks for any help!

Dani03

Post by Dani03 »

Hi and welcome! So far so good...but please make sure to feed that girl some fresh fruits and veggies! They can't get eveything they need from a seed mix or pellets. Try to feed her pellets rather than a complete seed mix.

For me, and I diunno about anyone else but that looks like an adult female! Doesn't have the 'baby' qualties that a youngin has...anyone else's take?

Very nice looking bird though! First things first is try to find if the owner is looking for her!

Dani
Ed Loschi

Wow!! Good catch!

Post by Ed Loschi »

Wow!! Good catch!
jen5239
Community Greeter

Post by jen5239 »

Looks like an IRN to me. Not sure if it's older or younger, not that good with them just yet. But it's gorgeous! They need a pretty large cage cuz of their tail. Lots of toys. They get bored easily and like to play. Well one of mine loves to play and the other doesn't much care for it.
darkcloudchild

Post by darkcloudchild »

That is definitelty an IRN Female.

I would try to get a cage big enough for her to move around, spread her wings and yet still be able to fit some toys in there.