After i feed my irn formula he still cries

Moderator: Mods

Cormacity

After i feed my irn formula he still cries

Post by Cormacity »

Hi all i have a 3 week old indian ringneck i feed him 15cc of formula every 4hrs but after every feed he still cries for more food what should i do ? Can i change the formula for him and use a new one ? I dont want him to still stay hungry and im new to this can someone help me pls?
I have a pic of baby lilly here

Thanks
Luke
Skyes_crew

Re: After i feed my irn formula he still cries

Post by Skyes_crew »

Hello:)

Welcome to the forum. Baby birds will cry for reasons other than food. The surest way to tell if he's still hungry is to check his feeding reflex. Gently tap the corner of his beak. If his mouth pops open he may still be hungry. Also place a finger on either side of his beak. If he head bobs its also a sign of hunger. Most likely though, if his crop is full, he has other needs that may need to be met. He may be cold, he may be lonely. I place a small stuffed animal in the box with my little one. I also hold him and speak softly to him. I tuck him under my chin where it's warm. You can try placing a heating pad on low under his box for added warmth. Try playing some soft music for him. Put him in a darker corner of the room. If all else fails, he will eventually fall asleep. I wouldn't over feed though. Stick to a schedule. If his crop isn't emptying between feedings he could get slow crop or impacted crop. What does his crop look like after a feeding?
I am owned by my birds...and I wouldn't have it any other way :D

Cormacity

Post by Cormacity »