random green feather on blue IRN PICS

Moderator: Mods

SkyBaby

random green feather on blue IRN PICS

Post by SkyBaby »

Skye grew a bright green feather on his/her shoulder and the weird thing is.. This bird is blue! Well.. more of a turquoise blue, but blue. I wonder if s/he will get more green feathers. What do you guys think this means? I'm new to the whole IRN thing.

EDIT:

Picture of the feather.

Sorry that feather is so faint looking here. It's much brighter in real life. I circled it because of that.
Last edited by SkyBaby on Tue Aug 05, 2008 12:57 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Briony

Post by Briony »

i think (dont quote me and please tell me if im wrong) that green irns are all split for blue...... i may be worng if i am someone please tell me :)
SkyBaby

Post by SkyBaby »

Briony wrote:i think (dont quote me and please tell me if im wrong) that green irns are all split for blue...... i may be worng if i am someone please tell me :)

That sounds right. Don't the breeders just turn off the green gene somehow? I really don't know how this works. :D I should read about IRN genetics. Thanks for the reply!
Fah

Post by Fah »

Heya, a picture would be great, but we have had turquoise birds not show the greeny colouring through the body for up to 3 months later or more after hatch. If the fella is greenish/turquoise, its not a plain blue.

So yeah if possible a pic would help.
SkyBaby

Post by SkyBaby »

Fah wrote:Heya, a picture would be great, but we have had turquoise birds not show the greeny colouring through the body for up to 3 months later or more after hatch. If the fella is greenish/turquoise, its not a plain blue.

So yeah if possible a pic would help.