URGENT HELP NEEDED!!! AERO IS BLEEDING

Moderator: Mods

AlphaWolf

URGENT HELP NEEDED!!! AERO IS BLEEDING

Post by AlphaWolf »

Ok I'am trying my best not to panic! All this is becuase of the stupid grill :evil: . An old slice of orange that I overlooked was being eaten by Aero. I put my had to remove the orange form Aero. H panicked. Later( I mean 30min) I notice that close to his eyes was a patch of blood. I don't know what to do. I'am going to the vets in 3 hours. Any ideas, I think he hurt his face from one of his toys.
"Live with parrots and you learn to panic"

AlphaWolf
InTheAir

Re: URGENT HELP NEEDED!!! AERO IS BLEEDING

Post by InTheAir »

If it is not bleeding freely I think he will be fine to wait a couple hours.
If he is still losing blood I would get him to the vet sooner, if it doesn't appear to be clotting. I'm not an expert, and haven't had experience of bleeding in birds, I'm just catious. If you turn up at the vet office with an urgent case they will try to squeeze it in.

He'll be fine though!
MissK

Post by MissK »

I hope this is all resolved by now, since I'm late coming to it.

I also feel that as long as the blood is not free-flowing, and it did just happen within half an hour prior, the cause for immediate alarm is low. Certainly it should be examined, by the doctor or by the careful, concerned human friend who noticed it. I would want to disinfect it, but don't know the proper method for a Ringneck head.

The worst thing I could think of, in a case where the clotting had been successful, would be if there were something stuck in the wound. For instance, if the bird had hit the head on something, and a bit poked into the bird and remained there.

I would also want to examine the rest of the bird to see if there were any additional damage that may have occurred in the same incident.

That's my assessment. So, what happened, now that it's over? How was it handled? How's the bird now?