My Joey is a little girl.

Moderator: Mods

JoeysMom

My Joey is a little girl.

Post by JoeysMom »

I just found out that Joey is a girl. I was impatient and had Joey sexed. I have been calling her Joseph since I got her two months ago. Should I feminize the name? I am horrible at bird gender guessing. I have a male quaker parrot named Samantha, whom I just call Sam. I have also had a male budgie who was named Zoey. I still would like to call her Joey as a nickname. What do you guys think?

Thanks,

-Joeys Mom
-Joey's Mom
MissK

Re: My Joey is a little girl.

Post by MissK »

"What's in a name? That which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet." -William Shakespeare

First, I think Joey won't care. There are lots of mis-gender-name-matched birds. If it bothers you, I would suggest you just start getting sloppy about your pronunciation and let Joey slide into Joy. Joy is a girl name, and quite apt for a beloved pet, I would think. Conversely, you could pick a new name, hyphenate it with Joey (Joey-Susan, for example) and then phase out the Joey part to leave the new name. Or you could just flat out change the name. It isn't like your bird's not smart enough to learn a new name.

If it were me, I would probably go with the first option. Next bird, name it more carefully.