how often should I be handling my babies

Moderator: Mods

likatiger

how often should I be handling my babies

Post by likatiger »

I have just got my two babies home and they are 5 weeks old and I am hand raising them. They are in the cardboard box the breeder gave them to me in. I have just been getting them out 3 times a day to feed them and that is it. Should I be leaving them be or should I be getting them out a bit more? And when should they be transfered to the cage.. once they have all their feathers?
likatiger

Re: how often should I be handling my babies

Post by likatiger »

someone here must have an answer for me ????? please????
kamerynn

Post by kamerynn »

I'm no expert but from my own experiences ...

If you want them tame you need to handle them more, even if it's just cuddles on your lap while you watch TV. Don't expect them to sit on your shoulder but they'll enjoy your company, and will probably drop off to sleep. As my IRNs got older I found that they started getting more active and would wander around tasting things. Now they've just fledged and they're not interested in sitting on boring old me, but I'm sure they'll come back to me when the novelty of flying wears off.

I used a plastic guinea pig habitat as a transitional home between the brooder and cage - it has solid plastic walls to block breezes and give them something to snuggle against, a wire top to stop escapes, a couple of low perches and wooden ladders, and enough space for food and water dishes and some French millet pegged on the side of the cage. I put them in there when their heads and wings were fully feathered because then they didn't need the heat lamp on them any more (though they still like it if I offer it overnight). They moved into a flight cage when the plastic cage became too small for their crazy flapping. And now they spend most of the day on top of the play frame looking down at the rest of the family :)