Letting Milo fly around the house?

Moderator: Mods

mickpmc

Letting Milo fly around the house?

Post by mickpmc »

I want to let him out to fly around free but I still have to tame him at the same time.
1 of his wings are cut but I don't agree while my parents do.
I don't think I should let him out to fly around yet. I have been taking him out and holding his wings so he can't
fly around. I put him close to me and pat him.
How many times a day should I take him out. I'm really new to this so I'm not too good.
I really need to know when to take him out. 2 times a day?
I need to know if I can let him go around free or I should tame him first?
Please help

-Mike

Milo...Boy...Buddy
ellieelectrons

Re: Letting Milo fly around the house?

Post by ellieelectrons »

Hi Mick
mickpmc wrote:1 of his wings are cut but I don't agree while my parents do.
By cut, I presume you mean clipped? From what I can gather the current train of thought on this is that if you are going to clip their wings, both wings should be clipped. Our vet did a long clip so they can both fly reasonably well... they can fly a little bit up, but not enough to fly and land on the fridge or onto our ceiling fans.
mickpmc wrote:I don't think I should let him out to fly around yet. I have been taking him out and holding his wings so he can't
fly around. I put him close to me and pat him.
It sounds like you are doing ok if your bird will let you hold him close to you and pat you. I've never "held" my birds wings, just be sure you're not hurting him... although I'm sure you wouldn't do that.
mickpmc wrote:How many times a day should I take him out. I'm really new to this so I'm not too good.
It's not just about the number of times a day it's also about what they do in that time. Just spend as much time with your bird as you can without neglecting other important things in your life.