Is This Suitable?

Moderator: Mods

LoneBlackWolf

Is This Suitable?

Post by LoneBlackWolf »

Hi, I'm new to the world on IRNs. My little guy Opie just came into my life two days ago. I took him to the vet today and he has a clean bill of health! He came to me living in a cage no more than 24" x 12" x 18". It broke my heart and I couldn't leave him in it a moment longer. I had an old ferret cage laying in a corner of our garage so I put it together, added a screen to the bottom with j clips and threw together some perches out of bird ladders. I showed a picture to the vet and she thinks is better than what he was in for the time being. He seems much happier already but he needs something made for birds as I don't want him getting sick from chipped paint.

I guess my question would be, is this big enough for him? I know the minimum is 24" x 24"x 36". But this one is 32" x 18" x 69", 4 inches shorter on the depth. But makes up for that in width and height. The wire ladders and shelves would be removed and filled with toys and perches. I just don't want him to ever feel cramped like he was ever again in his life. I'll also be getting him a play stand once we build a strong bond and he feels comfortable here. So, he won't be confined to the cage all the time. Just at night and while I'm not at home.

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product. ... lsrc=aw.ds

Thank you so much!
sanjays mummi

Re: Is This Suitable?

Post by sanjays mummi »

I would have liked to see a picture of it, but there was an error. Ms Sanjay has a Liberta Voyager 2nd edition, which, like the one you mention was reduced in price, (black Friday deal).
My bird came in a nursery cage, but she was only 8 Weeks old, it was replaced by a bigger one after about 9 months. I don't have a play stand, but she is out and about daily, as she loves to have a good fly around, I can't remember the dimensions of the Voyager, but if you look it up, you can compare the size,
LoneBlackWolf

Post by LoneBlackWolf »