Seed VS Pellets?

Moderator: Mods

Lauren
Site Admin

Seed VS Pellets?

Post by Lauren »

Me again :D I need any opinions on seed vs pellets? My IRNs have fruit and vegies in their diets but could I also give them birdy vitamin suppliments? Ive never seen pellets in the shops down here and I've heard they are quite expensive as I'm only a student at the moment. Everyone seems to be on pellets? :(

Thanx
Lauren, Gilbert and Lil Yoda.
ambros1a

Post by ambros1a »

hey, ive had my girl (maybe lol) for a few months now.
she has seed in 1 dish throughout the day, 1 bowl for fruit, and a metal kebab skewer, bent up at the end to hold the food on it (grapes, corn, whole beans/peas in pod, mix em up a bit) we also give her whole peanuts in the shells (not sure how much shes eating, or really just destroying). :lol:

i havent seen any pellets around here either (im in qld) but i did see in kmart a pack of 'bird munchies' brand 'gourmet parrot blend' for around $3 in Big W and Woolies.

Its got heaps of stuff in it, fruit, nuts, seeds and also.. there are some pellets in there, i thought id try it, to see if baby would even eat them.

But for the other day i came across a freaking maggot in it, :shock: i was unimpressed, not sure whether it was already there, or happened since i put it into a container, anwayz, i rang the company, the said it would be ok if she had eaten any, wouldnt harm her or anything, but i still threw them out(this may be coz id kept the containers on top of my stove, and mebbe from the heat of the oven being used). Now i just gotta ring em back (which reminds me lol) and they said theyre gonna send me out a bunch of samples for baby to try :) so, least shell have something in place of that seed. I may yet go back and get more, im pretty much outta seed for her atm, ill see how things pan out, but thought id try give u a cheap option, with at least part of the requirements
Lauren
Site Admin

Post by Lauren »