Vegetables For Alexandrine parrot

Moderator: Mods

APPK1234

Vegetables For Alexandrine parrot

Post by APPK1234 »

Hi, How do you feed Vegetables to your Alexandrine parrot - do you give whole veges, or cut them into small pieces ...?
RicksterBoy

Re: Vegetables For Alexandrine parrot

Post by RicksterBoy »

Hi, I'm extremely new to this, so I hope others respond, but I gave my boy some sliced apple, cut broccoli flowerets and whole grapes. He ate it great. I think they like to pick it up (not too heavy). I hope this helps ~ Jackie
APPK1234

Post by APPK1234 »

RicksterBoy wrote:Hi, I'm extremely new to this, so I hope others respond, but I gave my boy some sliced apple, cut broccoli flowerets and whole grapes. He ate it great. I think they like to pick it up (not too heavy). I hope this helps ~ Jackie
Thanks Jackie. Apple seeds are not to be given as I understand and grapes is to be kept just a couple .
dotfish

Post by dotfish »

My Alex eats Green Chillies(Peppers), Tomatos( he loves them), beans, ladies finger, boiled potato.
APPK1234

Post by APPK1234 »

dotfish wrote:My Alex eats Green Chillies(Peppers), Tomatos( he loves them), beans, ladies finger, boiled potato.
Thanks dotfish this is very nice of you - is tomatoes ok for Birds.
rod038

Post by rod038 »

For Indian Ringnecks which would be similar I give apples and pairs which I cut into eighths. Grapes and Chillies I give whole. Corn on the cob about a quarter.
dotfish

Post by dotfish »

APPK1234 wrote:
dotfish wrote:My Alex eats Green Chillies(Peppers), Tomatos( he loves them), beans, ladies finger, boiled potato.

As far as I know tomatoes are pretty safe and my alex demands it, but I suggest a moderation though, I would like to know from others on this more.
Lucas

Post by Lucas »

i use tomatos in the cake that i bake for my birds,
and... moderation in evrything gives the bird a long and healthy life!
Big varia of things to eat but never a heap of the same kind of food.