just wondering if maybe hes trying to speak!

Moderator: Mods

rocketsmummy

just wondering if maybe hes trying to speak!

Post by rocketsmummy »

Hi Everyone!
Im only new to owning a ringneck so im not sure about all the milestones they genrally make and when they should make them.
Rocket ,my green irn is about 16 weeks old now and from what i have read they genrally dont start talking untill around 7mths old.......two days ago everytime i spoke he began to make little sqwauking noises so i made a point of saying hello (what i say everytime i walk up to him) when i said this he woud stop listen the make his varied swauking sounds again. this went on for about 5 mins,my husband and i were sure it sounded at one time like he was trying to form the hello sound in a squaky kinda way.
then he did this again todaY i said hello he listened then made all kinds of noises ,i spoke he listened then started to sqwauk again
do you think he is trying to speak? :?: :?: :?: :?:
rocketsmummy

Post by rocketsmummy »

i forgot to mention
i have taught him to give kisses (bribe with sunflower seed) and when he tries to get on my head i will say no! and he lets go of my hair and stays put on my shoulder or if he goes to nibble my ear or earring i also just say no and he stops ( but this is very hard for him lol earrings are pretty lol)......i also have taught that come on means on my arm(or finger)this usualy but not always requires a sunflower seed. he lets me and my kids pick him up with cupped hands and pat him ocassionaly or scatch hes neck but this is usually when he is tired only.
is there anything else i should be teaching him for disipline or fun even?
how do i teach other things to him? i need ideas im not creative enough lol!
i hope im going about this all the right way.
have i taught him enough so far and taught the right way? thanks.
Donna

Post by Donna »