Any advice would be wonderful!

Moderator: Mods

slyon100

Any advice would be wonderful!

Post by slyon100 »

I recently purchased an Indian Ringneck from an owner. She is not hand tame at all and she screams. She has toys, I spend time with her in the morning prior to work and when I get home, but she will not let me touch her. In the morning she wakes the house with her screaming. She has plenty of toys, fresh fruit in the morning, water, and a clean environment. I am new to owning a bird and I love her dearly. What can I do to help her?
Wessel Gordon

Re: Any advice would be wonderful!

Post by Wessel Gordon »

Slylon,

Two questions right off the bat:

1. How long have you had the bird?
2. Did the previous owner part with it because of behavioral issues?

My reason for asking how long you have had the bird is that bird (just like us humans) take some time to adapt to a new living arrangement and can take quite awhile to settle down.

If the previous owner let the bird go because of behavior issues I must congratulate you on undertaking a difficult task, especially since this is your first bird. The bird might have learnt that screaming and other forms of negative behavior got the owner's attention and kept it up for that reason. A bird doesn't rationalize between good and bad attention it just sees that the behavior is getting a response.