need some advice

Moderator: Mods

Deosil

need some advice

Post by Deosil »

Hi there, like I said in the intros page I am brand new to IRN ownership, all my experience has been cockatiels.

I work a zero hour contract meaning I can be called on to work a shift at any time, any day.

What can I give my 8 year old female to keep her from getting bored when I am out? She has a toy in her cage, I don't think she's really that interested in it tbh, I find her pacing round the top of the cage, constantly going round in circles, she isn't tame and never has been, the walking round in cirlces is really concerning me, I don't want her to damage her beak, she freaks out with new toys and is terrified of them, she doesn't mind parrot treat sticks but less than 10 minutes and she has destroyed the thing and I am not giving her one every single day!

She accepts food through the bars so I'm part way there to making friends with her but I just need something to help her boredom problem both when I'm out and when I'm home as I can't get near her, she does come out of the cage and flies around but I obviously can't leave her out when I'm not there to supervise her.

I think she would really enjoy ripping things up, she isn't keen on leafy veg and just ignores it but she tries to get to the paper in the bottom of the cage (its protected by a grate) so is there anything other than veg she can get to rip up?

Hope you guys can help.
zentoucan

Re: need some advice

Post by zentoucan »

Hello Deosil
you need to address the boredom problem ASAP as it could lead to other behaviour problems such as feather plucking.
put the toys in view of the bird outside the cage. it will take a couple of days for the bird to become use to the toy.
then hang the toy on the outside of the cage. when the bird becomes use to the toy hanging outside the cage, move it inside the cage.