Scared IRN

Moderator: Mods

lovelypony123

Scared IRN

Post by lovelypony123 »

Hi, I'm new to this account :D. I had this IRN parrot for about a month and recently his partner has dies. He is 8 months. And he's soo quite and calm, everytime I go next to it, he always runs away and I have been sitting next to him every single day. And is there any taming tips or advice for to get his trust and is there any treats that I can give him? He doesn't even play all he does is sit in the corner, I heard from my friends that they are really active, and is there any toys that IRN like and should buy? He's so beautiful but I can't take him out of his cage cause he never come next to me :( is there anything I'm doing wrong?
Jen&Bug

Re: Scared IRN

Post by Jen&Bug »

Hi, welcome to the forum. The forum has lots of questions from new IRN owners who want to establish a good relationship with their bird. Have a look at some of the previous topics and you'll probably find some helpful advice for your situation - this will be easier than me trying to summarise all the great ideas on the forum in one post! :)

My own view about establishing the relationship is just to stay relaxed, positive and fun. Don't push limits, smile and laugh a lot and give your bird time to come out of his shell at his own pace. There are thousands of awesome parrot toys you could buy for him, and I encourage you to experiment to find out what he likes. If he's recently lost a mate, you might like to try a Squidilcious (http://www.myparrotshop.com/hanging-toy ... d_319.html) if you can get one where you live (it feels like grooming another parrot's feathers for your bird), or just a mirror to give him someone to talk to.

Good luck, and be patient.
Skyes_crew

Post by Skyes_crew »