Single for a very long time...

Moderator: Mods

melindaott

Single for a very long time...

Post by melindaott »

My IRN is turning 18 in October. He has been alone (with no bird companions) his whole life.
We moved out of my parents house earlier this year when I got married. My mom was usually at home to keep him company while I studied and worked. Now that we moved out, I am thinking of getting him a mate, just to keep him company during the day when we are working. Someone told me that he might not like that idea since he has been alone for so long.
The other problem is that, if I get him a friend, she will probably be much younger than what he is.
Does anyone have ideas for me?
Azure

Re: Single for a very long time...

Post by Azure »

wow that's a old bird! i dont think age would matter that much (guys do prefer young girls :lol: ) but how they would fit together and how well they would bond will depend on the individual birds, get him a mate, and watch him and her together for a while, if they are friendly or friendly netural (no fighting or aggressive behaviour) then go ahead, if any bad behaviour is observed keep them in seperate cages so that they can adjust to each other, or if that doesn't work i cannot help, :( give it back?

sorry i cannot give any expert advise :oops:
Azure
Just a "bookworm" (or rather an internetworm?) who has no ringneck(s) but REALLY wants a cobalt or violet
ellieelectrons

Post by ellieelectrons »

Hi Melindaott

I know I've read some posts on here about how to introduce new birds to each other. I've found this one:
http://www.indianringneck.com/forum/vie ... =2&t=11979
but I now there are more.

I think if you were to get another adult bird then that may avoid some of the problems you were talking about regarding maturity... although I understand you might want to get a younger bird so that it bonds to your family better.