very new to ringnecks laying eggs.

Hang out, kick back, relax and chat in "The IRN Lounge". Excellent place for general conversation, idle chat and off topic threads. Anything goes!!!

Moderator: Mods

kim ueckermann

very new to ringnecks laying eggs.

Post by kim ueckermann »

Hi all.

I am very new to the whole "ringneck laying eggs".
I have had blinky for about 2 years, and coco almost a year.
They are rescue birds, and they come from terrible back grounds, so I thought this counted against them as far as it come to making babies.

Anyway, they started showing signs of mating, so I got them everything they needed to do so.
Well, it worked, to my surprise ofcourse.
It has been 6 days, and she has 3 eggs. She is always in her nesting box, today more than any of the other 6 days. I am constantly checking up on her. She seems to be doing fine, and I suspect she might lay one more egg.my question. Is, plus minus how long before they hatch? How do I know if they are fertile. Is there anything else I need to do to ensure that these eggs hatch? Please if anyone has some more info and tips for me, I'd realy appreciate it.
Regards
Kim
Wessel Gordon

Re: very new to ringnecks laying eggs.

Post by Wessel Gordon »

Kim,

It takes roughly 22 days after the hen started incubating the eggs till the first one hatches. Once they start hatching they should hatch roughly 2 days apart.

You will notice when the hen starts to incubate the eggs when she starts spending 99.99% of her time in the nest and only leaving to eat and stretch her legs. During this period I will advise you to disturb her as little as possible since too many disturbances might cause her to abandon the eggs. I know how exciting it is to have eggs and how impatient one gets waiting for them to hatch but it's in the breeding pair and the eggs' interest that you allow nature to take it's course during this time.