Breeding Ringnecks

Moderator: Mods

junglebirds2004

Breeding Ringnecks

Post by junglebirds2004 »

My pair of IRN's are beginning to court I think. This is my first time to breed IRN's. My pair are lutino, they are a proven pair, that belonged to a friend of mine.

The female is scratching in the nest box, sometimes the male goes in with her. Today he was feeding her.

She begs at him lots now. She goes into her little trance. However, I have not seen them mate. Though they probably have when I am away from home.

Does this activity mean they will soon lay a clutch? I am so hoping they will. You see I had their daughter from a clutch 2 years ago, and recently, my husbands dog got into my room and killed her. I am completely broken hearted. She was my baby. I raised her from a chick, and she shared my meals with me, and was my constant companion. I desire another chick from this pair.

Any advise you can give would be appreciated.

Monica
ringneck
Site Admin

Post by ringneck »

Welcome Junglebirds

It seems like your Ringnecks are in full heat and breeding is underway! Just keep doing what you’re doing and you should have the female lay eggs real soon.

I am sorry that your husband’s dog killed your female Ringneck. That can be really hard and horrifying to deal with. I have had a similar case, although mine was an African Grey. His name was Elmo. I took him out on the patio for fresh air and came home late on night. To my surprise there were raccoons out there. They pulled Elmo through the bars of the cage. I found his head and body in two different sections of my backyard. I was horrified and in shock.

My little parrot Elmo used to run down the hall calling my name when he wanted to play. He surly will be missed :cry: :cry: :cry:
Hang in there; you’ll have your new Ringneck soon! :wink:

Best Wishes

I.C.
junglebirds2004

ringnecks courting

Post by junglebirds2004 »