when to pull for hand feeding

Moderator: Mods

sarahmohla

when to pull for hand feeding

Post by sarahmohla »

Hi,
I think I have 3 baby irns. By the chirping I estimate that they hatched about 4 days ago. When is the best time to pull them for hand feeding? I haven't peeked in the nest box. Can I look without upsetting everyone? Someone told me that the parents will kill them if I look... Is this true?
Sarah
yazzie

Post by yazzie »

Hi I am new to INR and have only had a pair for a few months. The have babies that are now a week old and I am allowed in the box when i like without objection. But when I had them and put the nest box in and they were in the box i always knock the box so as they are prepared and they can move over or go out without any panic. I have handled my babies a few times to check the crop ( but i know i am privileged). I will be pulling my babies next thursday or friday so i can begin feeding they will be then 2 weeks old. But if you do a serch on this site you will find some good posts hope this helps. Kaz
sarahmohla

Post by sarahmohla »

Hi and thanks for the reply. Do you plan to keep each baby separate while handfeeding. I have heard conflicting views on this. Thanks for the info on going in the box, I'll get up the nerve to look soon.
Sarah
Sarah
pinkdevil

Post by pinkdevil »

I am lucky with my birds. Most allow me to look in the nest at anytime frome eggs to chicks hatching. I try not to disturb mine alot. Usually check when I see alot of time being spent in the nest to see if any eggs hae been laid, then again when the first egg is laid, then once again around a week later to see how many eggs and if all is ok. Then I let the hen do her thing until it is close to hatching day. :D Around hatching time, I check every day to make sure all chicks are ok.

I have read lots of different opinions on this from leave birds alone to check them. I just do what I feel the hen will allow me to do.