Is it easy to breed IRNs?

Moderator: Mods

noeo

Is it easy to breed IRNs?

Post by noeo »

Hello,
I am new to IRNs and to this site. I have read a lot of posting regarding breeding but need someone to answer a few questions for me.

1. Has anyone been unsuccessful in breeding IRNs?
2. How long (years) do I have to wait for my IRNs to produce babies?
3. How will I know if my pair will not produce babies, even though they bond with each other.

I am anxious to have little babies and be able to play with them since my pair of IRNs are very wild.
Donna

Post by Donna »

Finding a pair of ringnecks and setting them up to breed is probably the easy part. Ringnecks are at their sexual maturity at about 3 years of age.
You want to do all your research before getting into breeding because it might not be what you want to do or have time for. Before you even think about babies you want to learn how to hand feed them and fully wean them and know what problems to look for.

Here are a couple of articles to get you started in the right direction.

http://www.birdsnways.com/wisdom/ww57e.htm
http://www.birdsnways.com/wisdom/ww57e.htm
http://www.birdsnways.com/wisdom/ww13eiv.htm

Best of luck and welcome to the site

Donna
In Loving Memory
of one special husband and one special bird.

I miss you both
noeo

Post by noeo »

Donna

thank you for the information. I am gathering all information I can get my hands on regarding IRNs. These are beautiful birds and want to keep them for as long as I can. I am up to the challenge to breeding my birds and my kids are willing to help out.
Jay

Re: Is it easy to breed IRNs?

Post by Jay »

noeo wrote:Hello,
I am new to IRNs and to this site. I have read a lot of posting regarding breeding but need someone to answer a few questions for me.

1. Has anyone been unsuccessful in breeding IRNs?
2. How long (years) do I have to wait for my IRNs to produce babies?